help me to thin my code

The favorite HDL language in Europe and in Universities

help me to thin my code

Postby kain » Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:12 pm

I write vhdl code(a controller for fourth lift) for my homework,bu it use too many gates, how to reduce some gates used in it, thank you for your help

in one component I use the signal---cI2,cu1,cu2.....
ct12<=cL1 and ((cI2 or cu2) or ((cd2)and (not(cu3 or cd3 or cI3 or cd4 or cI4)))) and cdc;
ct13<=cL1 and (not(cI2 or cu2 or cd2)) and ((cI3 or cu3) or (cd3 and (not(cd4 or cI4)))) and cdc;
ct14<=cL1 and (not(cI2 or cu2 or cd2)) and (not(cI3 and cu3 and cd3)) and (cI4 or cd4) and cdc;


in other one component I change the signal---cl2,cu1,cu2,use signal ct12,ct13

if up1='1' then
cu1<='1';
end if;
if up2='1' then
cu2<='1';
end if;



when s11 =>
if ct12='1'then
--wait12
cL1<='0';
tI1<='0';
cu1<='0';


I think this use of signal cost many gates, is it right?and how to thin the code
Thank you
kain
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:31 pm
Location: china hust

Postby tricky » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:31 pm

IT depends what you're refering to.

With modern standards, the design you have posted is extremly small (its still pretty small by old standards).

Is there a gate limit?
tricky
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:50 am


Return to VHDL

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests